Tracking Trace

Scan Results Are In

Posted in Daily Updates by Amy Kimler on January 19, 2011

Trace, Chris and I went to Vandy this morning to get the results of the CT and MRI done on Monday and to have blood drawn. The MRI looked great with no cancer/tumor seen.  The CT scan had some issues. All along the CT of the lungs has been my major area of concern. Recurrence of lung mets with Ewing’s sarcoma is prevalent.  The first 18 months is the most common time for recurrence. Trace’ll is 15 months post treatment now. The scan showed three new nodules on the right lung (superior/top and middle lobe) The nodules are 2-2.5mm in size. (10mm is equal to 1cm so these are tiny) Another scan wouldn’t show them because they are so small. They could have been there all along and just not seen until now. (due to the fact that every CT scan does not scan exactly the same areas) I wanted to do another  CT scan now to see if they are really there. The doctor wants to wait 4-6 weeks (I agreed to 4 weeks) and do another CT scan of the lungs. The areas will either be gone, grow (pray that this doesn’t happen), or the same. The nodules could be infection. Trace’ll had a ‘flu -like’ virus right before Christmas and they could be from that.  One of the hard parts is that really we have to wait to find out. From past experiences I know that waiting is hard, but it isn’t as hard as hearing bad news. The waiting is all water under the bridge when the doctor looks at you and says we were worried for no reason.

We met with the radiation doctor yesterday afternoon. He was the one who initially told me about these nodules. They were classified on the CT report as nonspecific which he said was good. Honestly, I didn’t feel so great leaving his office either.

I will keep the website updated as to the date of the next CT scan, the results and any other news we get.

Trace seemed to take the news pretty well. The tears in my eyes scared  him. I assured him that my job was to worry because I was the mom and his job as my child was to worry me. All is right with the world :) I’m worried.

Please, pray for Trace to be cancer free.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Barbara Dellinger said, on January 19, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Amy, you are such a wonderful mom and I know you are worried about Trace. I knew you were special when you were a child yourself. Praying for him and for your family and will continue to do so. Stay strong, God will watch over Trace.

  2. Susan Newell said, on January 19, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Trace has proven time and again that he is stronger than anything he faces….we will pray without ceasing until the next report shows that your worry is for nothing. (I, too, am an admitted worry wart)

  3. Terri Goodwin said, on January 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I will be praying for you guys. Trace is such a fighter. Stay positive… If yall need anything please let me know.

  4. Richard & Lauren Watson said, on January 22, 2011 at 9:39 am

    We’re praying for you guys. Hope you get good news in 4 weeks!

  5. Cynthia Hook said, on January 25, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Continued prayers for Trace and his family. Granny and Granddaddy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

